See if you Qualify in Connecticut
Online Divorce provides qualitative and approved by the court Connecticut divorce papers. The information below will help you understand more about the divorce in Connecticut. However, if you feel any doubt or insecurities, we will help you figure out how get your divorce form documents quickly and correctly filled out according to the rules set by the state without hiring an Attorney. onlinedivorce.com provides quick and inexpensive services of online divorce in Connecticut. We guarantee that in a short time you will receive the correct Connecticut divorce documents with specific circumstances of your divorce, as well as a detailed instruction on what to do next.
Below you can find common steps of how to get divorce in Connecticut:
1. First of all you have to be lawfully married. Rules of the state of Connecticut allow couples to file for a divorce in Connecticut only in case if they are were married legally.
However, it does not matter where the wedding ceremony took place. You could get married in some other state, the main thing is that your marriage is recognized by the laws of Connecticut.
2. Your or your spouse must meet the residency requirements of the state of Connecticut.
3. You must have fault of no-fault grounds based on which you want to file for a divorce in the state of Connecticut.
4. You must come to a common agreement with your spouse regarding the issues of custody of child, child support, payment of alimony and property division. If this is done, then you can formalize an uncontested divorce. If there is no single agreement on any issue, then you file for a contested divorce, which means that the court will independently decide on your dispute.
5. You have to fill out Connecticut divorce papers. This is one of the longest and most time consuming processes, because what kind of documents you should fill out will depend on the type of your divorce. It does not matter, either it is uncontested, or it is a contested divorce, you still need to fill out the forms established by the law of the state of Connecticut. Please note that if you make mistakes when filling out forms or fill out documents that do not relate to the circumstances of your divorce, the court will reject your application, which will lead to the fact that your divorce proceedings will be delayed. However, do not be afraid, you can initiate an online divorce in Connecticut using the online divorce service, simply by answering questions about your marriage. In this way it can greatly speed up the process of divorce, as well as give you guarantees that you will receive correctly filled papers that correspond to the circumstances of your divorce.
6. Once the divorce form documents are ready you have to file them to the court. And wait while the court will take a decision regarding your case.
If you want to file a divorce in the state of Connecticut, thus you or your spouse are required to reside in the state for at least 12 months. However, there may be an exception, for example, if the spouse who filed for divorce lived in the state during the marriage, then left the territory of the state, then returned with the desire to live in Connecticut on a permanent basis while still married, the rule of staying 12 months in the state is canceled.
Valid Grounds to get divorce in Connecticut
As in most states in Connecticut, there are 2 grounds for a divorce. The first are no-fault grounds, under which you only need to declare in the court that your marriage is irretrievably broken and there is no way to restore it.
The second are fault basis. Which apply in the event that the spouse made any serious mistake in the marriage, which led to the desire to get a divorce. If you want to apply for a divorce in Connecticut on the basis of fault grounds, you should know that you will have to provide the court with evidence of mistake that your spouse did and which lead to desire terminate the marriage. To fault grounds it is possible to carry:
2) psychiatric illness of one of the spouses, which was the reason for the hospital detention for a period of not less than 5 years;
3) alcohol or drugs dependence of one of the spouse;
4) if one of the spouses intentionally left the second for more than one year;
5) facts of domestic violence in the family;
6) if one of the spouses has committed any crime and received a term while he/she was in a marriage;
Annulment and divorce are similar concepts. The only difference is that the annulment is only suitable for certain types of marriage. Annulment as a type of termination the relations is applied in cases where the marriage has no legal force. In other words, at the time of marriage, the law of the state of Connecticut was violated.
Marriage is subject to annulment if at least one of the following conditions is met:
1) Blood relationship. In other words,the spouses are close relatives to each other. The law of Connecticut does not allow marriage to the parent and child, brother and sister, grandparent and grandchild, or other closely related couple.
2) At the time of marriage, one of the spouses was already in an official marriage, which was not terminated. Law of the State of Connecticut does not allow citizens to have more than one official spouse.
3) Marriage was held by a person who did not have a license to marry. State law permits only those who have special permission to conduct the marriage ceremony.
4) One of the spouses was seriously mentally ill at the time of marriage.
5) Marriage was committed fraudulently or under compulsion.
6) If one of the spouses has a serious illness that prevents him or her from fully living in the marriage, while he or she hides it. For example, a husband is indescribably ill with impotence.
If you want to terminate a marriage by annulment, then bear in mind that there is no single template for the documents that need to be filled out. So you will have to visit a local clerk to clarify all the nuances established by the rules of the district in which you want to annul the marriage. In most cases, you will need a complaint of annulment, as well as fill in some information that covers the details of your marriage: when and in what city it was entered into, information about children, common property, duration of marriage, reasons for which the marriage is considered void, and so on.
Please note that when filling out your Connecticut divorce papers, you will have to mention the reasons why you want to recognize the marriage as void.
If there are underage children in the marriage, then after the annulment it will be necessary to undergo the procedure of establishing the paternity, because the marriage is being invalidated, it is also expected that the children were born out of wedlock. You can also file a petition for the establishment of a paternity together with your divorce form documents. After the paternity have been identified, you have the right to demand financial support from your spouse for the child.
In cases where you live in a long-term marriage, you will not need to establish the paternity of children after the divorce in Connecticut. There is a special petition, called a presumption of paternity (a strong legal assumption that the supposed father is the actual biological father). And it has a place to be when:
1) the spouses were married 10 months before the birth of the child; or the child was born within 10 months after the marriage was completed by divorce, death or annulment.
2) the genetic test confirms paternity by 95%;
3) the birth certificate is written by two spouses or is notarized;
Thus, when filling out your Connecticut divorce papers, you will need to take into account a number of nuances. To protect yourself from errors, it makes sense for you to use the services of an online divorce in Connecticut. With our help, you will quickly receive divorce form documents that are drafted in accordance with state requirements. You will only have to register them in court.
Custody of the Child
In Connecticut, there are 3 types of custody of the child:
1) Primary custody - the type of custody in which one of the spouses becomes the primary guardian of the child, and the second spouse is an assistant and for him the hours of the child's visit are allocated;
2) Joint custody is a kind of custody, in which both parents take care of the child equally and take part in his or her upbringing. In this type of custody, the spouses have an equal opportunity for taking important decisions in the life of the child that will affect his future.
3) Split custody - the kind of custody, in which children are divided between parents. That is, if there are several children in the family, then they are divided between the spouses in such a way that each parent becomes the primary guardian for at least one child.
When deciding on custody, the courts of the state of Connecticut are always governed by the interests of the child and choose what is most suitable for him. The decision is made after analyzing the child's environment and his psycho-emotional state.
Rules for Child Support
During the process of a divorce in Connecticut, a court may order one parent or two to provide financial support to their minor child. Support for the child is regulated by the adopted state of Connecticut's Child Support Guidelines. On its basis, the total amount of support is calculated, which is then divided between parents in proportion to their financial capacity. However, in some situations, deviation from the rules is allowed when the court can make its own adjustments to the amount of support. This is possible in cases of certain circumstances after analyzing the following factors:
1) additional needs of the child;
2) if there are still underage children in the care of parents;
3) education of parents, their needs;
4) additional expenses related to the child's visit;
Rules for Spousal support
If the application for divorce was filed on the basis of the fault grounds, then one of the spouses can obtain through the court a financial support from the second spouse after the divorce. The decision on alimony will be made after an analysis of the following factors:
1) duration of marriage;
2) the situation that caused the divorce;
3) if the needy spouse has a custody of the child;
4) the age and health of each spouse;
5) the quality of life of each spouse;
6) education of a needy spouse and his professional skills;
Divorce without a lawyer in Connecticut
If you apply for a divorce in Connecticut, then there is no need to use the services of a lawyer. Cases when a divorce is made without the participation of a lawyer are called Pro Se Divorce, it is a Latin expression that translates as "on her or his own". Depending on which county you live, the process of divorce in the state of Connecticut can vary. Nevertheless, a divorce without the participation of a lawyer is completely legal and is subject to execution in any state. If the spouses have come to the agreement of a division of property and custody of children, then it is very convenient to initiate the Pro Se Divorce. To simplify the process, you can initiate an online divorce in Connecticut. Our service will help you quickly prepare all the necessary divorce form documents, which will greatly accelerate the process of your divorce.
The laws of Connecticut require a fair division of common property during the divorce in Connecticut. This means that usually the property is divided between the spouses in equal parts. However, sometimes the property can be divided in different proportions, if the court considers it is fair. Such a decision can be influenced by the following factors:
1) duration of marriage;
2) the contribution that one spouse made to the education or career development of the second spouse;
3) how each spouses were invested in the acquisition of property;
4) debt obligations of the spouses;
5) the contribution of each spouse to increase the family income;
6) the actions that any spouse did, aimed at the destruction of the common property after submission of Connecticut divorce papers to the court.
Similarly, in making a decision, the court will consider how easy it will be to divide the property. For example, a business that was organized in marriage is considered a common property, but in most cases the court will decide that the sole owner will be the spouse who is the founder. Also, keep in mind that the court will not divide the house in which the couple lived. Most likely the house will belong to one of the spouses, if the court finds it fair.
Note that sometimes the amount of wages or fault grounds of divorce can also influence the court's decision regarding the division of property.
Any of the spouses can ask for help from mediators, if in the divorce are involved issues of custody and division of property. In this case, the court will postpone the decision for a period of up to 90 days.
Divorce Forms in Connecticut
Many forms online you can find on the website of Connecticut Judicial Branch Love. The most common papers that need to be filled out are the "Summons Family Actions (JD-FM-3)" and the "Divorce Complaint / Cross Complaint (JD-FM-159)". However, depending on the circumstances of your divorce, you may need to fill out any additional papers. On the above site you will also find instructions on how to get a divorce in Connecticut, which you should carefully read.
If in the process of filling out the documents for divorce you will encounter a lot of incomprehensible legal terms and unresolved issues, you can always use the services of Online Divorce. We will significantly speed up your divorce process, help you choose the forms that correspond to the circumstances of your divorce and fill them up in accordance with the requirements of the state of Connecticut.
Uncontested Divorce in Connecticut
In the state of Connecticut, there is such type of a divorce, which is formalized faster than the standard one. Usually it can be initiated in cases where you and your spouse have already resolved all the controversial issues regarding custody of the child, the division of property and financial assistance. Such a divorce in the state of Connecticut is called ‘uncontested divorce’. This method is cheaper and less time consuming, since you do not use the services of a lawyer and you do not need to attend a series of court hearings on controversial issues. Nevertheless, you still need to fill out Connecticut divorce papers. Since it may require knowledge of laws from you, filling out divorce form documents can be a difficult process. If you want to avoid difficulties in getting a divorce, you should use the help of service of onlinedivorce.com - the best representative of online divorces in the state of Connecticut. You can be sure that we will prepare all the documents you need in the shortest time, after which you will only have to register them in the court in the county where you want to grant your divorce.
In the situation where you and your spouse do not have a single solution to the contentious issues or you have disputed that can be resolved without the involvement of a third party, than your divorce will be called contested and the court will independently decide on your differences.
How to Serve Divorce Papers in Connecticut
If you decide to apply for a divorce in Connecticut, then by law you must provide copies of all the divorce form documents to your spouse. Connecticut gives 120 days from the filing of documents to the court to notify the spouse of the beginning of the divorce. State law does not allow you to serve Connecticut divorce paper to your spouse directly or by mail. You are required to use the services of serve or ask the sheriff to notify your spouse. After you provide the your spouse with the documents, you will need to wait at least 60 days for your divorce in the state of Connecticut to be granted
Total fees will contain sum of Connecticut court filing fees and cost of using the service of OnlineDivorce.com. This cost may vary by county. Please check with your local court officer to determine the exact amount.