Online Divorce | Uncontested Divorce | File Divorce Paper | Do it yourself Divorce | How to Process Divorce | Where to file Divorce | How to File Divorce | Online Filling Divorce | Oregon

See if you Qualify in Oregon

Online Divorce provides qualitative and approved by the court Oregon divorce papers. The information below will help you understand more about the divorce in Oregon. However, if you feel any doubts or insecurities, we will help you to figure out how to get your divorce form documents quickly and correctly filled out according to the rules set by the state without hiring an Attorney. onlinedivorce.com provides quick and inexpensive services of online divorce in Oregon. We guarantee that in a short time you will receive the correct Oregon divorce documents with specific circumstances of your divorce, as well as a detailed instruction on what to do next.

 

Below you can find common steps of how to get divorce in Oregon:

1. One of the most important conditions for obtaining a divorce must be the fact that your marriage or partnership is official, in other words, it was made in accordance with the requirements of the State of Oregon.

2. You or your spouse are required to reside in the territory of Oregon and the county in which you want to file a claim within a certain period of time before filing  divorce form documents to the court.

3. You should have grounds for why you decided to dissolve the marriage. Oregon is a no-fault state, so you do not have to take dirty underwear for public scrutiny and prove the fault of your spouse.

4. You should not have any controversial questions about your marriage, then your divorce in Oregon will be granted much faster. If you and your spouse can not agree on anything, then the court will consider all unregulated questions during the meetings.

5. If all of the above conditions are met, you can start filling out the forms. This is one of the most time-consuming processes, because if you make any mistake or fill in unsuitable papers, the court will reject them.  At any time you can use the services of an Online Divorce in Oregon, using our help. In this way it can greatly speed up the process of divorce, as well as give you guarantees that you will receive correctly filled Oregon divorce papers that correspond to the circumstances of your divorce.

6. Once you have finished filling out your divorce form documents, you must file them in court, as well as transfer copies to your spouse. After the waiting period, the court will issue its verdict regarding the divorce.

 

Residency

If you decide that you want to get a divorce in Oregon, then you or your spouse must be a resident of the state for at least 6 months before filing a lawsuit. You also need to file divorce form documents in the court of the county, whose resident you or your spouse are. As soon as your Oregon divorce papers are registered in court you will need to wait 90 days before the court starts hearing about the divorce case.

 

Valid Grounds to get divorce

If you get a divorce in Oregon, then you must know that for the termination of marriage in state law there is one reason that is no-fault ground. You can get a divorce on the basis of the fact that between you and your spouse there are irreconcilable differences that do not allow you to live as a married couple. In other words, the court will not consider cases in which the basis for divorce is the fault of one of the spouses, you also do not need to prove it in court.

Also, note that Oregon law recognizes a registered domestic partnerships, but only for same-sex couples. On the basis of this, partnerships for same-sex couples are available almost all the same rights and obligations that exist in marriage, so the process of dissolution of domestic partnership is almost the same as divorce.



Annulment

Annulment is one of the ways to dissolve a marriage in Oregon. The annulment is applied in rare cases and implies that the marriage never existed from a legal point of view. This means that in order to obtain an annulment your marriage should have been concluded with violations of the rules of Oregon. Just note that the annulment is applied from a legal point of view, that is, do not confuse it with a religious cancellation that is conducted through the clergy. To receive an annulment, you must satisfy at least one of the following factors:

1) at the time of marriage, at least one of the spouses was not yet 18 years old;

2) during the marriage, one of the spouses was mentally incapable of giving consent to marriage;

3) the marriage was concluded by a motive way;

4) bigamy;

5) blood ties;

 

Custody of the Child

With a divorce in Oregon is one of the important issues that must be considered by the court is the custody of underage children. State law obliges courts to be guided by the best interests of the child when choosing a guardian. Guardianship can be both general (both parents will equally decide on the upbringing of the child) and the parent (one parent will have more rights than the other), but regardless of the kind, the guardianship is aimed at ensuring the following conditions in child's life:

1) to enable the child to see his parents as often as possible, who demonstrated the desire and ability to bring up the child, acting in his or her interests;

2) by any available means, encourage parents to spend more time with their children after the divorce;

3) encourage parents to enable them to work out their own parenting plan;

4) ensuring the best conditions for growing up and the safety of the child;

In almost every case of a divorce in Oregon  the court asks parents to provide their own parenting plan of a child. It can be either general or more detailed, but its main provisions should include:

1) how the parental responsibilities will be distributed;

2) the schedule of visits to the child;

3) a description of the processes of how parents will resolve controversial issues when deciding on the child's upbringing;

4) distribution of duties between parents;

The parent plan is an important document that you will need to attach to your Oregon divorce papers. If you are not able to develop it yourself or you can not agree with your spouse on some issues of the plan, then the court will develop its own detailed parenting plan and will oblige you and your spouse to follow this plan.

 

Rules for child support

After the divorce in Oregon, courts oblige parents to support their minor children who were born in wedlock. To calculate the amount of financial support, a special formula is used, which is adopted by the Division of Child Support of the Department of Justice. The main parameters of the formula are:

1) all current incomes and expenses of parents, including movable and immovable property;

2) the basic needs of each parent;

3) the history of all previous incomes and expenses of parents;

4) the child's needs for education, medicine and emotional needs;

5) The amount of assistance that would be paid to the child under the full standard of the IV-A plan;

Financial support to the child is paid until he or she has reached the age of 18 years old or graduates from school, whichever comes first. If the child is able to provide self-sufficiency, then he or she is also not paid financial support.

 

Rules for Spousal support

With a divorce in Oregon, a court may require one of the spouses to pay financial support to the second spouse. The type of support and its duration will depend on the various factors that took place to be married. Thus, under Oregon law, spousal support may be of the following types:

1) Transitional Spousal Support - the type of support that is awarded to the spouse for education or skills that will later help him or her find a good job or to get into a carnie's ladder. The court takes into account the following factors when deciding:

- duration of the marriage;

- spouse's experience;

- spouse's employment;

- the financial needs and capabilities of each spouse;

- tax liabilities of each spouse;

- the presence of custody of a minor child;

- any other factors that the court deems important.

2) Compensatory Spousal Support - the kind of support that is given to the spouse who has made a significant contribution to the education, employment and promotion in the labor market of the second spouse. The court takes into account the following factors when deciding:

- duration of the marriage;

- relative resources of the spouses' income;

- tax consequences of spouses;

- the availability of property from the spouse after the division of common property;

- any other factors that the court deems important.

3) Spousal Maintenance - the kind of alimony that is assigned to the spouse who invested in the second spouse for a certain period of time. The court takes into account the following factors when deciding:

- duration of the marriage;

- the age of the spouses, as well as their physical, mental and emotional indices;

- the standard of living that the spouses had during the marriage;

- training and employment of each spouse, as well as work experience;

- financial needs and possible resources of each spouse;

- tax payments of each spouse;

- the presence of custody of children;

- any other factors that the court deems important.

As you see the court can consider quite a lot of factors when deciding on alimony. Mostly the information about you and your marriage is taken from your divorce form documents. Thus, you should describe as accurately as possible in your Oregon divorce papers all the circumstances of your marriage, if you want a fair decision from the court.

 

Property division

With a divorce in Oregon, one of the processes that you need to go through is the section of common property that was acquired in the marriage. State law adheres to the rule of fair distribution, while the division of property also includes the section of pension benefits and payments. Initially, the court implies that both spouses were equally invested in the acquisition of a property, regardless of the income level of each spouse. If any property goes into full possession to your spouse, then you can get compensation for it in the amount of additional alimony. Please note that everything you own should be listed in your divorce form documents. As you can see, the process of filling the Oregon divorce papers is rather complicated and time-consuming. If you need help with your paperwork, you can always use the services of online divorce in Oregon to be sure that your documents are drafted exactly as required by Oregon law.

 

Divorce without a lawyer in Oregon

If you apply for a divorce in Oregon, then there is no need to use the services of a lawyer. Cases when a divorce is made without the participation of a lawyer are called Pro Se Divorce, it is a Latin expression that translates as "on her or his own". Depending on which county you live, the process of divorce in the state of Oregon can vary. Nevertheless, a divorce without the participation of a lawyer is completely legal and is subject to execution in any state. If the spouses have come to the agreement of a division of property and custody of children, then it is very convenient to initiate the Pro Se Divorce. To simplify the process, you can initiate an online divorce in Oregon. Our service will help you quickly prepare all the necessary divorce form documents, which will greatly accelerate the process of your divorce.

 

Mediation Support

In the state of Oregon, the spouses can use the services of mediators in case if they want or by court's order if the minor children are involved in the divorce case.

 

Divorce Forms in Oregon

When divorced in Oregon, there are two main types of divorce form documents, this is "Dissemination Dissolution" and a "Dissolution of Marriage". The first kind is a simplified method of divorce, which can be obtained if you meet the following conditions: you have been married less than 10 years, do not apply for alimony, you do not have minor children born in marriage, you do not have common property, as well as debts exceeding $ 15,000. If you do not meet at least one of these requirements, then you need to fill in the second type of form. You can find the necessary documents on the state website, but they can vary depending on the district in which you file a claim.  Note that if you file improperly filled out papers, this will significantly slow down your divorce proceedings because the court will reject your documents. To avoid delays in the case and insure against errors, it makes sense to use the services of Online Divorce. We will select the divorce form documents that fit the circumstances of your divorce and help fill them in accordance with the requirements of the state of Oregon, this will help greatly speed up your divorce process.

 

Uncontested Divorce in Oregon

According to state law, you have the right to file a fast divorce in Oregon. This form of divorce allows couples to end their marriage without ever appearing in court. It is also called uncontested and is given to those pairs that satisfy all of the following conditions:

1) both spouses are residents of the state of Oregon within 6 months prior to filing the papers in court, as well as the marriage lasted no more than 10 years;

2) you do not have underage children who were born or adopted in marriage;

3) at the time of divorce, the wife is not pregnant;

4) you do not have real estate in any of the states;

5) your property, both private and joint, is not more than $ 30,000;

6) your debts, both private and joint, are not more than $ 15,000;

7) you do not file a divorce or annulment claim in any other state;

8) spouses do not claim financial support;

9) you do not have any contentious issues regarding divorce;

Despite the fact that an uncontested divorce is a quick form to terminate a marriage that does not require you to attend the court, you still need to fill out Oregon divorce papers. Since it may require knowledge of laws from you, filling out divorce form documents can be a difficult process. If you want to avoid difficulties in getting a divorce, you should use the help of service of onlinedivorce.com - the best representative of online divorces in the state of Oregon. You can be sure that we will prepare all the documents you need in the shortest time, after which you will only have to register them in the court in the county where you want to grant your divorce.

 

How to Serve Divorce Papers in Oregon

After you have filled out all the Oregon divorce papers and filed them in court, you must present to your spouse copies of all the documents. This is the last step before the court starts hearing about your divorce. This is also called serving spouse, but if you both submit documents, you can skip this step.

If you submit documents without the participation of your spouse, you can serve in the following ways: to transfer the copies of the divorce form documents to the spouse personally, after which he or she must sign the "Acceptance of Service" form, which is also should be submitted to the court. If the spouse refuses to sign the form or you can not find him or her, then you can use the services of a local sheriff or the professional service of serving. If you can not do any of the ways to contact your spouse, then you must place an ad in the local newspaper regarding the beginning of the divorce process.

Once you are done with the service of the spouse, you will need to wait for 90 days for the court to begin hearings on the divorce in Oregon.

 

Filing Fees

Total fees will contain sum of Oregon court filing fees and cost of using the service of online divorce in Oregon. This cost may vary by county. Please check with your local court officer to determine the exact amount.